top of page
Search
  • helenbielby

Not a bad life

💙💛 It's not a bad life when you wake every morning and look at me with loving eyes and fascination: waiting for me to open the blinds and show you the garden; the houses, the sky, the grass: sometimes the snow.


When you cup my face with your delicate, double-jointed hands and look at me; deep in the eyes, searching for who I am; as well as me searching for who you are; we connect in a moment of shared understanding:

that you are my daughter, and I am your mum.


It's not a bad life when the longed for first sentence tumbles from your mouth. You start to express what you'd like; what you want to do next: you start to gain your own automony.


Sometimes when I dress you, you notice my hair falling over my face and my flustered cheeks, as we rush to get ready for the day. You stop, brush my hair out of my face, and stand back admiring your handy work. You smile, knowing you've helped me.


You help me in far-reaching ways.


It's not a bad life hearing your belly laugh: your chuckle; the absolute joy you take in hearing people sneeze. Your laughter lifts us even on the hardest of days, and melts hearts and transforms minds.


When you learnt to sing 'Happy Birthday' for the first time, it was a revelation. You sang with meaning and recognition; something perhaps we thought would take a lot longer to do. What are birthdays? What are numbers? Why do we receive gifts? All these things begin to assemble in your mind as having meaning and connection.


Everything is a determined and steadfast process.


Walking, talking; holding a spoon or a pencil; learning to say and sign your name. When you achieve it, we celebrate, we cry: knowing the journey that has gone before. The emotion arrives in hot, prickly tears of pride, and an unwavering sense of defiance against any doubts or doubters that may have gone before.


Yes, it's not a bad life, loving you Hermione.


Our daughter with extra sparkle ✨️ 💛 💙 xxx



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page